Rain, rain, go away

March 7, 2010 at 11:08 am 2 comments

…At least until I can wash all my new fabrics! I know lots of people around the country are wanting the rain to stop for other reasons (thank goodness we weren’t in Melbourne for yesterday’s thunderstorm), but my current frustration is not being able to prepare fabrics for my next cushion-making marathon. As well as the fabrics I posted last week, there’s this AMAZING vintage bark cloth I found in the Chapel Street Bazaar in Melbourne last weekend. It’s getting pretty rare to find such a large piece in such excellent condition – I reckon it’s been at the back of some lady’s sewing cupboard for 50-odd years! I’m not sure this photo does it justice – the colours are REALLY vibrant! Coming soon to a red sofa at Absolutely Fabulous, when the weather turns my way…

Entry filed under: Cushions, Fabrics. Tags: , , , , , , .

Antique fashion plates exhibition Annie’s dragonfly cushions

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. 50 years in the making « Touchwooddesign  |  March 20, 2010 at 7:50 am

    […] 20, 2010 The weather has finally been kind to me so I’ve been able to wash this vintage multi-coloured 50s bark cloth and make some of the cushions it was destined to become. There are some peculiarities in the print, […]

    Reply
  • 2. Lisa Trickey  |  May 11, 2010 at 5:20 pm

    I love this fabric it’s sensational!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Subscribe

 Subscribe

Receive Touch Wood Design posts by email.