A fine piece of linen

March 28, 2010 at 11:53 am 2 comments

Yesterday I went to the Ipswich Antique & Collectables Fair, where I picked up this fine piece of hand-embroidered linen. They sure don’t make ’em like they used to! I also scored some old dress patterns and buttons, and some Robin Annuals from 1963 and 1965, which were in quite shabby condition but are full of inspiring illustrations. Unfortunately I had no luck looking out for ceramic flying ducks for my friend Nerida, but there’s always next time – the fair is on again on August 14 and October 30 at the Ipswich Showgrounds. Thanks to the lovely Louise for letting me know it was on.

Entry filed under: embroidery, Places I like to visit. Tags: , , , , , , , , , .

Rocket rascals Holiday cushionathon – day one

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. bloombub  |  March 28, 2010 at 10:55 pm

    Eileen, I have a lot of these that my Nana made, and I inherited, but I don’t know what to use them for (seeing as how we don’t have a dining room table, or entertain very much). Any suggestions for repurposing them? What are you using your for? B

    Reply
    • 2. touchwooddesign  |  March 30, 2010 at 8:51 pm

      Hey Ms B, I treat my old hand-embroidered linens as sacred (I know first-hand the work and time that goes into each one) so I wouldn’t be comfortable with re-purposing mine. I have four vintage glass-fronted book cases and I lay my best linens on the top of each one so I can look at them every day. So I would suggest placing them on top of book cases or sideboards where you can see them. Another idea would be to frame up the best ones and display them that way. I’ve also seen some people sew them onto pillowcases and display them that way. Hope that helps, E.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Subscribe

 Subscribe

Receive Touch Wood Design posts by email.