Progress report #2 – Gabe’s bag

July 18, 2010 at 8:24 pm 4 comments

This weekend involved a lot of planning and not much doing – in the sewing arena, that is. As well as all the usual chores, I’ve been working on images for my cushion exhibition – three patterns are ready to use and I’ve got a bunch of other images that are in progress. I also bought lots of wool flannel and felt, so I will be able to start making things this week! I’ll tell you more about it as it starts to take shape…

As far as other projects go:

  • we’ve had some great windy, fine weather so I’ve finally been able to wash the coffee bean bag (might do some more thinking about the best shape for the tote bag though)
  • I’ve got the fabric and made the pattern for the word cushions (but this will have to sit on the backburner until the exhibition is under control)
  • I’m starting to get nervous about finishing Hollie’s birthday present on time
  • I still look longingly at my unmade Rob Ryan skirt every time I walk past the stair railing where I hang fabric
  • but I have finished Gabe’s not-so-nappy bag – in Joel Dewberry ‘Ginseng’ fabric with lining in deep blue (and here it is).

Entry filed under: art, bags. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , .

New atomic bark cloth cushions All the way from Finland

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Amanda  |  October 4, 2010 at 8:45 am

    Love this bag. Did you use a pattern? If so, could you let me know what one and where I can get it?

    Reply
    • 2. touchwooddesign  |  October 6, 2010 at 7:08 am

      Thanks Amanda! I did use a pattern for this one – I started with Amy Butler’s ‘The Nappy Bag’ to get the basic shape and then made some modifications to the inside pockets. I’m sure you’ll be able to find the pattern via the Amy Butler website or from a seller on Etsy. Happy sewing!

      Reply
  • 3. Amanda  |  October 8, 2010 at 6:42 am

    Great, thanks! I think I have that pattern tucked away somewhere. Yours looks big though,(which I like) I assume you made yours larger?

    Reply
    • 4. touchwooddesign  |  October 8, 2010 at 7:31 am

      No, this is the actual pattern size. It might be skewed a little bit by the angle the photo was taken, but it is a pretty big bag.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Subscribe

 Subscribe

Receive Touch Wood Design posts by email.