Magical embroidery

April 3, 2011 at 12:11 pm 3 comments

Anyone who’s seen my embroidered skateboard will know I’m quite partial to a bit of embroidery when I can set the time aside to get into the headspace. So you can imagine my absolute delight to see that Penguin has commissioned some embroidered covers for some of their classics. Brooklyn-based illustrator and cartoonist Jillian Tamaki has made some beautiful covers for The Secret Garden, Emma and Black Beauty. Head over to her blog to check them out and while you’re there you should also see her embroidered monster quilt! Thanks to the lovely Susan for sharing this amazing art! Imagine the fun you could have with this stack…

Entry filed under: art, Books, Inspiration. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , .

A splash of colour Wish upon a ribbon

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. coldcomfortcrafts  |  April 3, 2011 at 5:52 pm

    Oh my goodness… for some people the word ‘talented’ doesn’t quite cut it! Definitely going to feature this artist on my blog, thank you for introducing her work to me! Wow…

    Reply
    • 2. touchwooddesign  |  April 3, 2011 at 8:51 pm

      My pleasure! Isn’t she inspiring?

      Reply
  • 3. More delightful book design « Touchwooddesign  |  March 4, 2012 at 8:17 am

    […] ages ago I came across the Jillian Tamaki embroidered Penguin covers? Well, thanks to Crafts magazine (yes, of course I went back and bought it!) I’ve discovered […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Subscribe

 Subscribe

Receive Touch Wood Design posts by email.