A second opinion

May 2, 2011 at 8:03 am 7 comments

Yesterday Mr A and I went for an afternoon stroll and came across this very unusual Crown Devon leaping stag wall vase. I’m not sure if my surreptitious photos have captured the shape at all well – it’s kind of a double trumpet design with a flat back. I can’t find the exact item online so I’m not sure about the price they’ve put on it, but it’s part of the 1950s Stockholm design that I remembered from a Cold Comfort Crafts blog post last year.

It’s got the same beautiful red on the inside. My question for you is: should I buy it?

Entry filed under: Pretty Things. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

Storybook tree cushions Foxy goodness

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kylie  |  May 2, 2011 at 12:04 pm

    Yes you should – it looks Christmassy to me and would be lovely filled with holly and red flowers on the wall! It is unusual, I know nothing about antiques but the price seems reasonable!

    Reply
    • 2. touchwooddesign  |  May 3, 2011 at 7:02 am

      Thanks Kylie. You’re so right!

      Reply
  • 3. maree oshea  |  May 2, 2011 at 4:46 pm

    My recommendation is…if it goes with your decor and if you like it…then buy it.

    M

    Reply
    • 4. touchwooddesign  |  May 3, 2011 at 7:02 am

      Thanks Maree – very sage advice.

      Reply
  • 5. coldcomfortcrafts  |  May 3, 2011 at 1:01 am

    Ooh it is a bit of an odd one isn’t it! In the tiny bit of research I did i did not come across any wall vases, so would assume it is pretty rare. The Crown Devon Stockholm really seems to hold its value so if you change your mind there will definitely be a collector out there to take it off your hands! Go for it.

    Reply
    • 6. touchwooddesign  |  May 3, 2011 at 7:03 am

      Thanks Sasha. Hopefully it’s still there when I go back next weekend…

      Reply
  • […] course I went back to get the Crown Devon leaping stag wall vase… How could I not?! It’s now on the wall of my sewing room under the watchful eye of my […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Subscribe

 Subscribe

Receive Touch Wood Design posts by email.