Vintage fabric find: pressed leaves

May 15, 2011 at 3:35 pm Leave a comment

I remember when I was little I used to collect pretty leaves (obviously it’s been a longstanding obsession!) and press them under a stack of our World Book encyclopedias – that’s what this vintage barkcloth reminds me of. It’s part of a stash I recently bought from a lovely lady who must have an extraordinary fabric collection, including some from a fabric manufacturer who supplied film sets from the 1940s to the 1960s! I took this photo when the fabric was still wet, so what looks like red is actually a beautiful burnt orange colour that contrasts really nicely with the teal, mustard and chocolate.

Entry filed under: Fabrics. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Rob Ryan alert My corner of the world

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Subscribe

 Subscribe

Receive Touch Wood Design posts by email.