A not-so-lazy Sunday

September 25, 2011 at 3:01 pm 4 comments

A few weekends ago, Mr A and I dropped in to a friend’s place to pick something up and at one o’clock in the afternoon they were just getting out of bed and asking us if we loved lazy Sundays too! We were incredulous because lazy days on any day of the week are a bit of a foreign concept to us…

But after a big day yesterday (three loads of washing, making a double batch of my homemade tomato and red pepper relish, going to the hardware store and unwisely carrying a 30 litre bag of potting mix a considerable distance back to my car, and cleaning out the gutters because the weatherman is predicting a storm for today) I had a little lie-in this morning – seven o’clock is late by my standards anyway!

Then I re-potted some baby lemon trees – I thought I’d try to germinate some seeds from my Mum’s bush lemon tree and 27 of them came up! Obviously didn’t buy enough pots at the hardware store, so there is still some re-potting to do… If anyone would like a lemon tree, please put your hand up because I don’t have room for an orchard at my place.

A ‘recovery’ cup of tea later, I got stuck into making some small cushions for a couple of our chairs that don’t seem as soft as they used to.

Then I set about making some more black-and-white spotty piping for another pair of my atomic barkcloth cushions. If you haven’t seen them before, there’s a picture here. Who knows what else I will have achieved before the day’s out? Have a great Sunday everyone!

Entry filed under: Cushions, Inspiration. Tags: , , , , , .

A spot of colour They’re growing on trees

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. maree oshea  |  September 25, 2011 at 8:07 pm

    Lovely little read. Quite reassuring too as lazy Sundays are not something that happens in my household. My greatest pleasure is seeing one of our grandchildren wide eyed and smiling by 6.30am.

    Reply
    • 2. touchwooddesign  |  September 26, 2011 at 7:00 am

      What a lovely image! Thanks Maree.

      Reply
  • 3. Carmel  |  September 25, 2011 at 9:45 pm

    Hey E, I would love one of your tiny lemon trees! I have been wanting to buy one for a while to put near our front door but haven’t got around to it yet. If you would like to put my name on one that would be lovely (I will take it off your hands next time we catch up) šŸ™‚ C

    Reply
    • 4. touchwooddesign  |  September 26, 2011 at 7:00 am

      Consider it yours!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Subscribe

 Subscribe

Receive Touch Wood Design posts by email.