A tricky decision or two

October 17, 2011 at 2:48 pm 4 comments

In the process of preparing for the Etsy store I’ve been talking about opening for ages, I’ve been reading a book by a successful Etsy seller, Timothy Adam. Because the book is divided into lots of smaller sub-sections, it’s a breeze to read. It’s got a big focus on promotion, but I found it most useful for the advice on boring technical things involved in setting up a shop – which, while they might be boring and technical, would make a big difference in terms of its appearance and the traffic it attracts. A large chunk of the book is devoted to Q&As with other Etsy sellers – and the main pearl of wisdom I learnt from that is there isn’t necessarily a right or wrong way to do it, you just have to manage your expectations.

So what I’ve been mulling over is what stock should I launch my Etsy shop with? I could do a follow-up to last year’s felt cushions exhibition (it doesn’t look like I’ll be doing a physical exhibition this year, since the beautiful venue I held my show in has been demolished to build a new building for the tax office – boo hiss!) or I could go with a few of the lovely ladies in my rather large collection of pin-up girl fabrics (like these) or I could go with some of my vintage fabric cushions that aren’t available from Absolutely Fabulous. Or I could do all three. The problem with that is I do love going to Etsy shops where the design aesthetic that links all the items is very clear – and I’m concerned the jump from pin-up girls to vintage stamps might be a bit of a stretch… or is it?!

Hmmm… what would you do?

P.S. If  you want to check out my home on Etsy, go here.

Entry filed under: Inspiration. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

An owl to wish you goodnight A dear little swallow

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. coldcomfortcrafts  |  October 17, 2011 at 6:33 pm

    Tricky indeed… the theme of ‘cushion’ should tie it all together! I think the Scandi cushions could be a real hit, especially in the lead-up to Christmas. It’ll be hotting up with you but Etsy’s so international I think the wintery-ness of some of them could really work. Then save the lovely ladies in bikinis for after Christmas and the Northern Hemisphere’s spring? Just a northern perspective!

    Reply
    • 2. touchwooddesign  |  October 17, 2011 at 9:45 pm

      I like your thinking! I will have to push myself to come up with a new series of felt cushion designs and make them in time for Christmas, but I do have a folder of about 75 photos of vintage stamps for inspiration so you never know…

      Reply
  • 3. maree oshea  |  October 17, 2011 at 8:04 pm

    I’m a bit of a beach girl myself so I say go with the “summer lovin” theme. My other thought it use 2 or 3 themes but launch them with a bit of a space between them. eg one in the morning and the other in the afternoon…get views fired up and anxiously waiting for the next release.
    Good luck with whatever you choose.
    I’m sure it will be a hit.
    Maree

    Reply
    • 4. touchwooddesign  |  October 17, 2011 at 9:49 pm

      Thanks for your thoughts Maree. Launching one theme at a time will be a good way to keep the shop looking focused. And I can treat it like preparing for an exhibition – only it will be a virtual one!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Subscribe

 Subscribe

Receive Touch Wood Design posts by email.