An amazing distraction

October 22, 2011 at 8:30 pm 2 comments

Just when I’m supposed to be spending my holidays designing a new series of felt cushions to launch my Etsy store, my Mum has provided an extraordinary distraction. After nearly eight decades of sewing, she decided to give me most of her sewing patterns – two apple boxfuls! The patterns range from late 1960s through to early 1990s and there are so many fabulous styles that I may never need to buy another pattern again…

They are too good to hide in a cupboard so I thought I might start a regular segment to share them with you – look out for the Saturday Special! I thought I might start with something quick and easy, so first up is Style 4095, which was issued in 1984. I’m thinking of making View 1 in this cornflower blue cotton I found in the bargain box at one of my local fabric haunts, with these apple buttons I’ve been saving for the right project.

Entry filed under: Clothes, Saturday Special, Sewing patterns. Tags: , , , , , , .

Even more foxy goodness So much for ‘quick and easy’

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Cally Jackson  |  October 24, 2011 at 10:03 pm

    How exciting! Looking forward to seeing the results. 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Carmel  |  October 24, 2011 at 10:22 pm

    Happy Holidays E! I hope you have enjoyed every minute of everyday so far (they are bliss).
    You must have been secretly looking forward to ‘the hand over’…how exciting! Have fun sorting through them…there will be so many styles to try. I like the cream skirt, it would look amazing in any printed fabric. Now that I have successfully made a skirt I am willing to try another 🙂

    I love your apple buttons. Talk soon, C

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Subscribe

 Subscribe

Receive Touch Wood Design posts by email.