Best of 2011

December 30, 2011 at 11:28 am Leave a comment

While a lot of people I know can’t wait for 2011 to be over, for me it’s been a pretty good year. I’ve made friends around the globe, I’ve got a day job I actually enjoy and I’ve had lots of adventures in sewing. Thank you so much to everyone who’s been along for the journey, shared a few words of encouragement and listened to my stories. I hope 2012 is everything you’d like it to be!

Here are a few of my favourite things from 2011.

Top 10 books I discovered in 2011

1. Rob Ryan – A Sky Full of Kindness

2. Jonathon Walford – Forties Fashion

3. Tomoko Nakamichi – Pattern Magic

4. Alexa Johnston – A Second Helping

5. Angela Villalba – Mexican Calendar Girls

6. Zoe Boccabella – Mezza Italiana

7. Lotta Jansdotter – Open Studios

8. Laura Heyenga – Paper Cutting

9. Robert Holden & Jane Brummitt – May Gibbs: More Than a Fairytale

10. Steve Earle – I’ll Never Get Out of This World Alive

Top 10 albums I listened to while sewing in 2011 (even though this year was officially the year of ABC, BBC and NPR radio in my sewing room!)

1. Tommy Guerrero – Lifeboats & Follies

2. Studio One – Scorcher (Instrumentals)

3. Depeche Mode – 101

4. PJ Harvey – Let England Shake

5. Emmylou Harris – Hard Bargain

6. Calexico – Ancienne Belgique: Live in Brussels 2008

7. Kristin Hersh – Learn to Sing Like a Star

8. Joe Beats Experiment presents Indie Rock Blues

9. Gillian Welch – The Harrow & the Harvest

10. Dum Dum Girls – Only in Dreams

Top 10 fabrics I came across in 2011

1. Vintage pomegranate bark cloth

2. Vintage bouquet bark cloth

3. Vintage storybook trees bark cloth

4. Vintage pressed leaves bark cloth

5. Vintage Salvador Dali dancing leaves bark cloth

6. Vintage raindrop rayon

7. Angie Lewin – Nature table

8. Robert Kaufmann – Metro cafe

9. Alexander Henry – Wranglers

10. Cloud 9 – Free as a bird

Entry filed under: Books, Fabrics, Inspiration, Pretty Things. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Bringing the outdoors inside Saturday Special: Simplicity 7703

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Subscribe

 Subscribe

Receive Touch Wood Design posts by email.