A lady to admire

January 20, 2012 at 9:30 pm Leave a comment

I’m always excited when the new Selvedge magazine arrives in my mailbox – it’s full of pretty things and I generally learn something every time I open the cover. Today I was introduced to a Mid-Century British designer, illustrator and printmaker called Enid Marx, who was incredibly prolific and worked on everything from textiles to posters, book jackets and even postage stamps (perhaps that’s why I’m so taken with her work). There’s currently an exhibition of her work at the Pallant House Gallery in West Sussex in the UK – a little bit out of my way unfortunately so I’ll have to be content with looking at her pictures online. Like these delightful dogs.

Enid Marx dogs illustration

Image courtesy of the Pallant House Gallery.

Entry filed under: art. Tags: , , , , .

Adventures away from home Saturday Special: Simplicity 3676

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Subscribe

 Subscribe

Receive Touch Wood Design posts by email.