An owl to keep watch over your couch

January 23, 2012 at 6:47 pm 2 comments

Well, I finally finished the Bulgarian owl stamp cushion… hooray! It took a little while for me to be happy with the design and find the time to complete it (I’m still working on that back-to-work routine). I wanted to achieve the simplicity of a 1950s children’s storybook illustration in bright, happy colours. This one has a little bit of hand embroidery too – the wing and feather details. What’s next? Maybe a squirrel, maybe a flamingo.

Bulgarian owl stamp cushion

Entry filed under: Cushions. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Vintage fabric find: red leaves barkcloth The hunt for the elusive light turquoise felt

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sasha  |  January 23, 2012 at 7:31 pm

    With each stamp cushion I think, ‘oh yes, that’s my favourite.’ Until you make the next one which then takes over! But that owl is definitely my favourite. (Until I see the squirrel)

    Reply
    • 2. touchwooddesign  |  January 24, 2012 at 7:25 am

      That’s lovely Sasha! After labouring over getting his ears right, I have finally cut out the squirrel so hopefully I can finish him when we have a public holiday later this week.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Subscribe

 Subscribe

Receive Touch Wood Design posts by email.