Fabric dreams

February 19, 2012 at 4:28 pm Leave a comment

One of my long-term plans is to design and print my own fabric (hopefully with a little help from Mr A in the printing department) – and while I am working on other things at the moment I do have some ideas tucked away for the future. In the meantime I’m learning what I can about the process, which is why I was excited to hear that Kim Kight of the amazing True Up fabric blog had produced a book about fabric design. It’s quite comprehensive in that it deals with multiple methods (of both design and printing) and has interviews with a few of the stars of modern fabric design. The publishers are quite funny about copyright, so if you want to find out more about A Field Guide to Fabric Design then I’d suggest checking out a review and pictures I found here. I found the book really straightforward to read – and like the True Up blog, full of inspiration as well.

Here’s one of my current fabric favourites – Nani Iro double gauze from Naomi Ito’s 2011 collection.

Image courtsey of the Matatabi Etsy shop.

Entry filed under: Books, Fabrics, Inspiration. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Saturday Special: Style 3371 A very different life

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Subscribe

 Subscribe

Receive Touch Wood Design posts by email.