Between crafty pages

February 24, 2012 at 6:04 pm 2 comments

Because there’s such a plethora of magazines about extraordinarily talented arty/crafty people and their wares, I usually try to limit myself to only buying ones that are either (a) going to teach me something (this is my excuse for buying Selvedge) or (b) are full of lots of free patterns (like Stitch). Looking at the others involves a trip to my favourite newsagent where, luckily, the owner likes to dabble in crafty things so there’s plenty to choose from and she doesn’t seem to mind when I stand there browsing for ages (i.e. reading and trying to memorise websites to look up later!). But I might have to make an exception to my rule because she has now started stocking a very interesting-looking UK magazine called Crafts.

Of course, it was the cover picture of Donna Wilson and her fabulous scarves on the November/December issue that caught my eye. She’s a Scottish designer who has a way with wool and textiles, and I first heard about her from the lovely Sasha of Cold Comfort Crafts. You can read more about Donna Wilson on her blog. Or just go straight to her shop – I want one of everything!

Donna Wilson house scarf

Entry filed under: Pretty Things, Special people. Tags: , , , , , , , .

A very different life Saturday Special: Style 3334

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. coldcomfortcrafts  |  February 24, 2012 at 6:46 pm

    I know what you mean about limiting yourself- I can spend ages perusing blogs etc and depending on my mood, get very inspired or a bit downhearted! And I too want one of everything (except the skinny toys- not my thing!) on Donna’s site. Especially the fox scarf and badger cushion…

    Sorry for the delay, but I was finally in that craft shop yesterday and alas, no turqouise/aqua felt! It’s very rare, it would seem. Makes your whale cushions even more limited edition though!

    Reply
    • 2. touchwooddesign  |  February 24, 2012 at 9:25 pm

      Oh yes, especially the fox scarf!

      No worries about the felt. It would seem that I have used the last known quantities of light turquoise felt anywhere, so I think I’ve resolved to move on to baby blue – the red lettering will still make a nice contrast I think. Thanks for looking anyway.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Subscribe

 Subscribe

Receive Touch Wood Design posts by email.