Fun at the fair

April 29, 2012 at 11:53 am 2 comments

This morning I popped along to the Queensland Embroiderers’ Guild Mother’s Day Fair and this is what I discovered…

As you enter their headquarters in Brisbane, you’re surrounded by some ridiculously skillful 3D embroidery by different branches of the guild that they’ve turned into wall hangings. The first one is from the Sunshine Coast and the second from Toowoomba (obviously!), with both depicting various aspects of local flora and fauna.

Embroidered wall hanging

Embroidered wall hanging

Of course I couldn’t help bringing a couple of bargains home. This is from a hardcover book the guild published on one of their founding members, Mabel McAlister. The story goes that she was a bit of a cat lady – and there are cats galore in different embroidery styles in this book – but I think my favourites are her buildings. There are a lot of workers’ cottages in Brisbane (I live in one) and this image really captures the charm of this style of architecture.

Mabel McAlister workers' cottage embroidery

While there were other crafts on show at the fair, I spent most of my time at the embroidery stalls and brought this piece home to keep the dust off that display cabinet I bought a few months ago. Beautiful handiwork!

Embroidered linen

Embroidered linen detail

Entry filed under: embroidery, Pretty Things. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Saturday Special: Advance 5840 Fabric find: Summersville Scandi

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. coldcomfortcrafts  |  April 29, 2012 at 6:12 pm

    Beautiful, beautiful. I wish I could have gone along! Tea cloths and embroidered things are becoming more popular again- but how can they ever have fallen out of favour when they are just so lovely?!

    Reply
    • 2. touchwooddesign  |  April 30, 2012 at 7:10 am

      I absolutely agree. And the price I paid for that beautiful piece probably worked out at 30 cents an hour for the original seamstress – criminal really!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Subscribe

 Subscribe

Receive Touch Wood Design posts by email.