The best therapy

September 30, 2012 at 9:26 pm 2 comments

Whenever I need some good thinking time, I’m usually seen heading in the direction of my sewing room – I find the combination of design and creativity blended with repetition and the steady hum of the machine does me the world of good. But I think the best therapy of all is hand embroidery – a great way to escape the relentless domesticity in which we’re all caught up in way or another.

Embroidery is also the focus of a UK social enterprise I just came across called Fine Cell Work, which trains prisoners in paid, skilled, creative needlework. There are some amazing pieces in their shop, like this Charlene Mullen-designed cushion featuring beautiful blackwork. What a great idea!

Fine Cell Work cushionImage courtesy of Fine Cell Work.

Entry filed under: embroidery, Inspiration. Tags: , , , , , .

Saturday Special: Simplicity 4984 The Shacket #3

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. coldcomfortcrafts  |  October 17, 2012 at 5:00 am

    Wow… that’s one to get me thinking. What a cool, meaningful idea.

    Reply
  • 2. espirational  |  October 22, 2012 at 7:13 am

    I agree, handwork is the best therapy.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Subscribe

 Subscribe

Receive Touch Wood Design posts by email.