The trouble with books

March 10, 2013 at 4:47 pm 3 comments

If you’ve thought there’s been a lot less sewing going on here lately, you’d be right… And you could blame this stack of books – I am!

The trouble is, when I start a good book I don’t like to do anything else until I’ve finished it, which puts a halt to other creative pursuits. For the record, the best ones were Martin Amis and Iain Banks, although there were a couple of brilliant stories in the Don Delillo collection and the Kurt Vonnegut was a predictably good read. I have a soft spot for Kristin Hersh, so of course I was going to enjoy that one. The jury’s still out on the Mark Haddon one and the Neil Young autobiography was as rambling as his music, although I feel like I have a better insight into what makes him tick.

The good news is that I’ve finished the last one this afternoon so now that I feel like I have my vocabulary back I’ll be able to resume other endeavours!

Stack of books

Entry filed under: Books. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Saturday Special: Simplicity 2455 Foiled again

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. coldcomfortcrafts  |  March 19, 2013 at 7:24 pm

    Wow, I look forward to reading again when the boys are older and I’m on top of my ‘must make’ list (haha)
    My dad loves Neil Young, and his thin voice reminds me so much of childhood.

    Reply
    • 2. touchwooddesign  |  March 20, 2013 at 6:57 am

      Hmmm… Will we ever be on top of our ‘must make’ lists?!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Subscribe

 Subscribe

Receive Touch Wood Design posts by email.