Spring is in the air

September 8, 2013 at 4:43 pm 2 comments

This week I’ve had a fantastic time pottering around at home, sewing, listening to the BBC (local radio during an election week got a bit much for me!), walking around my neighbourhood and visiting a few of the spring fetes and festivals that are in abundant supply at the moment.

I found these lovely Royal Copenhagen vases on a browse through the Paddington Antique Centre. Sadly, neither of them came home with me…

Royal Copenhagen vases

Speaking of Royal Copenhagen, today my friend Yolanda and I went across town to the annual Scandi Festival at Newstead and the ice cream was very, very good! This year it seemed to be all about the food, although there were also some craft stalls including Icelandic knitting and Lego jewellery. On the walk from the car, this whale caught our eye – to give you an idea of scale, it took up half the wall of a very large warehouse!

Whale graffiti

Yesterday we popped by the Oakleigh State School fete at Ashgrove, where I scored a couple of unexpected bargains including this Japanese embroidery book.

Ondori embroidery book

I’m getting a bit of a collection of these Ondori books…

Ondori embroidery book

Love that Arabesque embroidery on the right page!

Ondori embroidery book

Entry filed under: art, Books, Places I like to visit, Pretty Things. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

Saturday Special: Simplicity 6838 Find what you love

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Noreen Kakakhel  |  January 7, 2014 at 8:59 am

    This is my favourite book. I had that book sense 1987 but have lost now. I would still like to buy this book. Could you let me know where it is available?

    Reply
    • 2. touchwooddesign  |  January 7, 2014 at 6:52 pm

      Hi Noreen, there’s a secondhand book website where you might find it called http://www.abebooks.com – good luck! Cheers, Eileen.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Subscribe

 Subscribe

Receive Touch Wood Design posts by email.