Learning to draw

October 6, 2013 at 8:12 am 2 comments

This week Mr A and I visited an exhibition by our friend Heinz Riegler, who’s known around these parts primarily as a musician (and a very fine one at that) but of late he’s been making some really rewarding forays into visual art. It’s all come about through making art a part of his daily routine – something I can relate to, as well as how fantastic that makes you feel.

Just before my holiday break, I started doing a visual countdown where I did a drawing first thing every morning, based around how many working days I had left to go. I started doing this 22 working days out (I turned the number into two swans swimming side by side) and finished with one steaming cup of tea in a spotty cup (because of course there was always going to be a lot of tea-drinking in between all the sewing) and displayed each picture next to my desk. Aside from being fun and generating a lot of traffic when people from other floors of my building started visiting to see what I’d drawn for the day, in just four weeks the process improved my confidence with drawing (which I’ve always found really hard work) immensely. I think I’ll keep doing it when I go back to work.

Heinz’s Sisyphus/Unlearning show is on at Jamie’s Espresso Bar in Fortitude Valley during October if you’d like to have a look in person.

Heinz Riegler - Unlearning

Entry filed under: art, Special people. Tags: , , , , , , , , , .

Saturday Special: Vogue 4632 More pretty things I can’t have

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. maree  |  October 7, 2013 at 10:09 am

    Thanks for sharing…this is a great little inspiring story.

    Reply
    • 2. touchwooddesign  |  October 7, 2013 at 4:54 pm

      No worries Maree. We humans are geared for routine, so habitual drawing can only be a good thing!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Subscribe

 Subscribe

Receive Touch Wood Design posts by email.