Excellent adventures

November 3, 2013 at 12:57 pm 2 comments

I had some excellent adventures at the Queensland Art Gallery and GOMA this weekend. Between the Ip Man films and Infernal Affairs, featuring the very good-looking Mr Tony Leung, Mr A and I overdosed on Hong Kong cinema over at the Cinematique. And I also spent quite a while wandering around the California Design exhibition.

California Design exhibition

The best atmosphere is created where the curators have combined pieces as they would have been in real life.

California Design exhibition

Among all sorts of eye candy of the design kind is this roll of 1950s rayon upholstery fabric by Paul Laszlo – quite an amazing atomic piece.

California Design exhibition

There’s also a tonne of California pottery…

California Design exhibition

I dropped in to the pop-up shop, where my cushions are looking more homely now, although some of them have already left for new homes…

California Design exhibition

Then it was off to the cafe to see this giant mural by my friend Stephen Mok. Fun, fun, fun!

California Design exhibition

Entry filed under: art, Places I like to visit, Pretty Things. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Saturday Special: Simplicity 7111 Scandi bird #6

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. coldcomfortcrafts  |  November 3, 2013 at 7:40 pm

    Love those circular orange chairs- my parents had a similar pair when I was little and my dad regrets getting rid of them to this day!

    Reply
    • 2. touchwooddesign  |  November 4, 2013 at 7:11 am

      My parents had a beautiful turquoise and white one that I spent most of my childhood curled up in with a book! Unfortunately one of my sisters nabbed it…

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Subscribe

 Subscribe

Receive Touch Wood Design posts by email.