Magical faraway places

April 21, 2014 at 10:19 am Leave a comment

Remember when we were kids and loved to collect postage stamps from faraway places? Anything from outside of Australia was considered pretty exotic in our household – even if they were from across the Tasman or on the annual birthday packages that arrived from my great aunt in Scotland! I would have been positively beside myself if I’d ever come across a stamp from Peru!

While I ceased collecting stamps decades ago, the thrill of the chase has stayed with me in my hunt for the next great piece of vintage fabric or showstopping dress pattern from another era. That’s the feeling I’m trying to capture with my new postage stamp cushion series – wonder, delight and the comfort of happy memories.

Peruvian whale stamp cushion

Entry filed under: Cushions. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Saturday Special: Style 2013 Fabric find: Pink birds

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Subscribe

 Subscribe

Receive Touch Wood Design posts by email.