Hot rod heaven (or the benefits of being spontaneous)

October 12, 2014 at 12:17 pm Leave a comment

When I was out visiting my folks at the weekend I decided to forget about deadlines for a couple of hours and head off to the Fassifern 50s Festival at Aratula – and as well as taking in a lovely drive in the country, I found myself in hot rod heaven! For car lovers it was wall-to-wall eye candy (check out my highlights below) but my great day was made even better when I met a lady at the markets that were part of the festival and arranged to buy her vintage pattern collection!!! I’m sure you’ll hear more about that down the track, but for now here are the cars…

This Corvette Stingray was straight out of a James Bond movie!

Vintage Stingray car

There were quite a lot of older Fords, but this Super Deluxe caught my eye – perhaps because it was opened up like a Christmas beetle landing awkwardly!

Ford Super Deluxe car

The Chevrolet car club was very well represented, with this smokin’ red Impala…

Chevrolet Impala car

…and this classic Bel Air…

Chevrolet Bel Air car

…and this amazing lowrider – I think I need a lipstick in the colour of this Impala!

Chevrolet Impala car

Another glorious Bel Air…

Chevrolet Bel Air car

I didn’t come across my dream car (a 1960 Holden Special in red and ivory), but this was the closest to it – a 1962 Holden Special.

Holden Special 1962 car

And lucky last – this Ford Zephyr had quite an amazing paint job! What a fun day!

Ford Zephyr ute

Entry filed under: Pretty Things. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Saturday Special: Vogue 6267 Ovals in red

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Subscribe

 Subscribe

Receive Touch Wood Design posts by email.