A new lease on life

October 26, 2014 at 4:53 pm 1 comment

A couple of weeks ago when I had my hot rod adventure out at Aratula I met a lovely lady who was selling her vintage sewing pattern collection… I really hit the jackpot there (and I suspect you’ll be seeing those over the next 18 months or so in Saturday Special posts!) and I also had the privilege of paying her a visit yesterday to go through more patterns and help her destash other sewing supplies too. These lovely winter woollens from the 1960s came home with me.

Woollen fabric

And here’s just a small selection of the vintage cotton reels I scored as well! I’m always happy to give old treasures a new lease on life and to meet such a delightful soul in the process was a real inspiration.

Vintage cotton reels

Entry filed under: Fabrics, Pretty Things. Tags: , , , , , , .

Saturday Special: Simplicity 3153 Playing with pin-up gals

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Zoë Boccabella  |  October 27, 2014 at 8:51 am

    What wonderful finds! Looking forward to seeing the beautiful creations you’ll make from these!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Subscribe

 Subscribe

Receive Touch Wood Design posts by email.