Just for me

January 13, 2015 at 7:25 am 2 comments

Every year I say I’m not going to get caught up in just making cushions… and it seems every year that’s exactly what happens! Except this one – I’ve dedicated the first two weeks to only making things for myself!

Here’s a 1960s shift dress I made from a panel I found in a quilting store, featuring a family in traditional dress in front of a Japanese temple. If you look closely, you’ll see Mt Fuji on my right shoulder as well. I used navy blue sateen for the back of this dress after my initial choice of an indigo silk/linen blend turned out to not be at all colourfast.

Japanese temple shift dress

And this is a 1940s eight-gore skirt in red sateen… I must be a sucker for punishment because I made this one with French seams! I’m blaming my Mum’s bad influence there!

Red eight-gore skirt

Entry filed under: Clothes. Tags: , , , , , , .

Saturday Special: Vogue 6686 Saturday Special: Vogue 6695

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Zoë Boccabella  |  January 13, 2015 at 3:29 pm

    These are gorgeous! Especially love the panel in the shift dress!

    Reply
    • 2. touchwooddesign  |  January 14, 2015 at 7:15 am

      Thanks Zoe! Yes, it was quite a find!

      On 13 January 2015 at 15:29, Touchwooddesign wrote:

      >

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Subscribe

 Subscribe

Receive Touch Wood Design posts by email.