A room of unimagined treasures

October 27, 2015 at 8:06 am Leave a comment

With Christmas and the next GOMA market fast approaching, I’ve been looking for some inspiration for a couple of new cushion designs to add to my menagerie. It got me thinking of how varied my tastes have become when it comes to textiles…

While I like the idea of nice, neat matching cushions, I’m also a big fan of lots of mismatched soft furnishings with the theme of abundance – especially when it comes to colour! This reminded me of one of my favourite artists and his approach, which appeals to the hoarder in me.

British artist Mark Hearld’s most recent exhibition was influenced by a short story called The Lumber Room, by Saki, which was read to him in an English class when he was 15. As Mark explains:

“Since I heard Saki’s story I have always been intrigued by the idea of a locked room that contained treasures so wonderful they are beyond what your mind can imagine. In this exhibition I wanted to create the sense of excitement and wonder that you get when you discover the key to the room and see the ‘forbidden’ objects for the first time.”

Food for thought…

Mark Hearld artwork

Entry filed under: art, Inspiration, Special people. Tags: , , , , , .

Saturday Special: Simplicity 2549 Saturday Special: Simpicity 1353

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Subscribe

 Subscribe

Receive Touch Wood Design posts by email.