Vintage fabric find: Salvador Dali fabric

June 6, 2011 at 7:54 pm 4 comments

This time I’ve really hit the jackpot! This decorator-weight vintage barkcloth has an amazing dancing leaves design that’s been attributed to Salvador Dali. There’s so much colour and movement in the design, and the fabric is in very good condition considering its age. You may not be able to see it clearly in the photographs, but the little squiggles over the entire fabric are gold paint – which you see quite often on mid-century fabric. I think I have enough for five pairs of 20-inch cushions (that’s 51cm for those who prefer metric) so they will be very limited indeedy! If you love the fabric please leave a comment here or email me so you can get advance notice when the cushions are available at Absolutely Fabulous. I’ll post a photo of the cushions when they’re made. And for those of you in Brisbane, don’t forget the Surrealism: The Poetry of Dreams exhibition opens at the Queensland Art Gallery this week.

Entry filed under: Cushions, Fabrics. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

A postscript to the wall vase quandary What to do on a rainy day in Brisbane

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Carmel  |  June 7, 2011 at 11:07 pm

    Hey E, this is beautiful fabric! Is this the fabric we were talking about when we caught up? I can’t remember the design you told me about that day. I would love a pair of your Dali cushions when they are ready 🙂 I will email soon to catch up…or see you at the gallery if we can make it! C

    Reply
    • 2. touchwooddesign  |  June 8, 2011 at 8:57 pm

      Hey C! Yes, this is the fabric I was telling you about. I’ll let you know when I’ve had a chance to make up some cushions. Things are very busy in our household this week as you can probably imagine!

      Reply
  • 3. Carmel  |  June 8, 2011 at 11:36 pm

    Thanks E, I thought so! It’s lovely. Take your time with them, no need to rush. They will be a ‘happy holiday’ present to myself…and very worth the wait! I can imagine there’s other things happening at the moment. Talk soon, C

    Reply
  • […] done, I then made three pairs of cushions – one pair of red mambo cushions and two pair of dancing leaves ones. A very productive […]

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Subscribe

 Subscribe

Receive Touch Wood Design posts by email.